Nice things and remembrances

Kind hearts are the gardens,
Kind thoughts are the roots,
Kind words are the blossoms,
Kind deeds are the fruits.

~19th century rhyme used in primary schools

vibaward

First of all I want remind those of you who know Natalie, over on Sacred Touches (http://sacredtouches.com)—Natalie is set to get a new knee Thursday. It has been a long and painful journey for Natalie as she longed for this new chance of painless mobility— I ask that you join with me in offering a collective prayer of good wishes, ease of procedure and recovery and for a healing balm to wash over both Natalie and her family during the worry of surgery and arduous recovery. . .
As we may offer up prayers for others who may be under the heavy blanket of pain and worry this day. . .

Now those of you who know me, already know that I am a reluctant recipient of awards, accolades and honors. I tend to eschew such as I never quite figure I’m a deserving soul. . .there are far more deserving folks out there who certainly do a better job than I do at whatever it is the honor is to be recognizing. I’m not one who enjoys blowing my own horn. . .

As fate would have it, I was actually nominated for a little blogging award this morning–The Inspiring Blogging Award.
I was nominated for this honor by Stuart M Perkins over on Storyshucker
(https://storyshucker.wordpress.com)
If you are not familiar with Stuart and his writings on Storyshucker–I highly recommend that you take a look.
Stuart, not a writer by trade, paints beautiful folksy southern narratives of both his childhood growing up in Virginia as well as from his day to day observations. There is a bit of Faulkner hiding in Stuart and I have greatly enjoyed reading his sage tales.

Now what you should know is that there is always a sort of passing of the torch when one receives a blogging award. One is to usually answer a few questions about ones self, which I suppose helps the “reader” to glean a bit of insight into said author. The honoree is to also, in turn, nominate a fellow blogger who is deemed equally as deserving. . .
And in keeping with the tradition, I begin my foray into life of the honored. . .

Here are the rules for the award:

Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
List the rules and display the award.
Share seven facts about yourself.
Nominate 15 other blogs you enjoy, then comment on their posts to let them know that you have nominated them.

1. I’m a retired high school art teacher who seems to prefer writing to painting
2. Despite being adopted and claiming to the be the long lost love child of Sophia Loren, I am Southern born and bred (don’t tell Ms. Loren, she has no idea)
3. I am a deeply spiritual Christian committed to my faith–no apologies there
4. I adore watching college football, especially cheering on my beloved University of Georgia Bulldogs—GO DAWGS
5. I’m actually rather shy in unfamiliar settings preferring a quite evening to anything “social”
6. I love to travel as I find nothing helps us to better understand those we share this planet with than a visit elsewhere as we develop a deeper empathy and understanding of folks other than ourselves
7. I love to cook and I posses an unhealthy, in so many ways, obsession with the real deal BUTTER

Here are the bloggers I wish to pass the torch of honor to–give or take 15 and in no particular order. . .

1. my friend and most talented wood-master and cook, Michael–his work is amazing
https://michaelswoodcraft.wordpress.com

2. my very busy yet very kind brother-in-Christ and wistful seaman David over on Ebs and Flows
https://nwelford.wordpress.com

3. dear sweet Natalie of Scared Touches
http://sacredtouches.com

4. My new found friend and true champion of Christ, Melissa
http://workforthecausenottheapplause.com

5. My misplaced English friend who is forging a life in Italy, Pecora Nera (black sheep) who provides a healthy dose of truly needed humor whilst sharing what it’s like to be an Englishman married to and Italian while dealing with life in Italy—as the Italians, mind you, go about life a bit differently than the rest of us. . .
http://englishmaninitaly.org

6. To Melanie Jean Juneau–the inspiring French Canadian mother of 9 and author who devoutly shares her Catholic faith with others
https://melaniejeanjuneau.wordpress.com

7.To Father Hugh—my most favorite Australian monk living in a monastery in England who shares his faith and tells it like it is–again with Christ, there are no apologies
https://hughosb.wordpress.com

8. To Nicodemas, another bold lion ad brother in Christ over on Color Storm
https://thenakedtruth2.wordpress.com

9. To Laura over on What’s the Good Word–who offers calming peace as she paints daily images through word and image of God’s endless grace
https://lljostes.wordpress.com

10. To Deborah Ann over on CHRISTian Poetry whose daily sticky notes provide a reminder and inspiration to all who trudge their way through life that God is indeed Great
https://poetrybydeborahann.wordpress.com

12 comments on “Nice things and remembrances

  1. I am deeply touched- grateful and smiling in the cold

  2. love the rhyme- just might have to borrow it for a meme- woud that be okay? credit to you

  3. ColorStorm says:

    Tkx cookie-

    Truly warming to be thought of so fondly, especially in light of all your other good friends.

    Very cool.

    ‘nick’

  4. David says:

    Finally got to read this post Julie and feel very honoured. Thank you. I will sort out my response this weekend when home from my travels in the wonderfully green but extremely wet Ireland.

    Thank you also for the reminder to pray for Natalie.

    Blessings, David

  5. Luggage Lady says:

    Congrats!!! You absolutely took the words straight out of my mouth with #6… Love!

  6. Nicodemas says:

    Wonderful! Congratulations! Praying for Natalie.

  7. Melissa says:

    Thank you Julie, I am humbled. I also was able to check out everyone else’s blog you listed and it looks like I’ll be having some new favorites! Also lifting Natalie up in prayer.

  8. Thanks, sweet Julie, for the comforting words and prayers and for nominating me for this award. Thank you also for asking others to pray for me. You are such a sweetheart!!! Much love and huge, huge hugs, N ❤ ❤ ❤

  9. Kentucky Angel says:

    Congratulations Julie, to you and to all your nominees. And thanks for reminding me about Natalie’s coming surgery. I pray for everyone daily, but will add special prayers for Natalie now. All of you keep me lifted up in spirit on days when the darkness tries to close in.

  10. Pecora Nera says:

    Congrats from Italy, you deserve the award. I will go and have a look at the blogs you have nominated and thank you for nominating my little blog of madness.

Leave a Reply

