a year ago

Old Time, in whose banks we deposit our notes
Is a miser who always wants guineas for groats;
He keeps all his customers still in arrears
By lending them minutes and charging them years.

Oliver Wendell Holmes

img_1646
(image from Gallagher’s Boxty in Temple Bar / Dublin, Ireland / Julie Cook / 2015)

Exactly one year ago today….
I fell in love with something new…
yet oh so familiar.

I fell in love with a city.
I fell in love with a country.
I fell in love with my own heritage.
I fell in love with the comfort of a chicken boxty
and a delightfully crisp, soothingly dry beverage…
Stonewells Cider…

dscn0097

img_1644

And just because I was busy falling in love, didn’t mean that the rest of life
wasn’t busy being just that…
busy….
while at the same time, it was pretty much staying the same…

Yet…

unbeknownst to anyone in particular, life was secretly gearing up for change….

I was holding life together by a very fine thread.
Just enough in order to get by and get gone…

And it worked for a while.

Yet during these 365 days which have come and gone,
all since eating a chicken boxty,
there have been great changes,
both good and bad.

Life changing as well as life altering.

And as it always is, it all began before I even came back home from being away…
and it’s been that way ever since.

For there have been actual lives which have come and gone…
while others remain hanging in the balance.

Life has that way about it…
that way of never sitting still.
And it doesn’t much matter whether we like it or not…

Within a day,
a week,
a month,
a year…
heck, even within just a mere hour…
our lives change,
for both good and bad.

There is simply no avoiding the changing…
No matter how hard we try to hold onto all the sameness…
change will always be greater, stronger, and ever more relentless…

So as I reminisce about comfort food and comfort places…
I know that time and life and change are each busy at work…
Working hard at changing me..
my time and my life.

But the one constant that I cling to….
the one thing that is not held by either time nor space…
not held by change nor even life itself…

Is the love of an omnipotent Father….

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?
Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine
or nakedness or danger or sword?
As it is written:

β€œFor your sake we face death all day long;
we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”
No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.
For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,
neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,
neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation,
will be able to separate us from the love of God
that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:35-38

17 comments on “a year ago

  1. David says:

    So glad you got to make your trip to Ireland before all that you have had to cope with since arrived on the doorstep Julie. Continuing to pray. Blessings, David

  2. I’m back in blog land and you were my first port of call. Delighted it’s a post about your Irish visit. Looking forward to following you again.

  3. Deeply encouraging. I hope I see Ireland some day.

  4. Outstanding. Here you are on the verge of being completely spent and you can still dig down and come up with fabulousness! Love and hugs, N πŸ™‚ ❀

  5. atimetoshare.me says:

    Virtual hugs coming through cyberspace. God be with you, Yoda.

  6. Lynda says:

    Such powerful Scripture from Romans. I cling to the fact that absolutely nothing can ever separate me “from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord”. Blessings and prayers.

Leave a Reply

