wondering and wandering

“We are perishing for want of wonder,
not for want of wonders.”

G.K. Chesterton

dscn4693
(December moon /Julie Cook / 2016)

I wonder as I wander out under the sky,
How Jesus the Savior did come for to die.
For poor on’ry people like you and like I…
I wonder as I wander out under the sky.

When Mary birthed Jesus ’twas in a cow’s stall,
With wise men and farmers and shepherds and all.
But high from God’s heaven a star’s light did fall,
And the promise of ages it then did recall.

If Jesus had wanted for any wee thing,
A star in the sky, or a bird on the wing,
Or all of God’s angels in heav’n for to sing,
He surely could have it, ’cause he was the King.

(Appalachian Christian Folk Hymn 1933)

Tell of His glory among the nations, His wonderful deeds among all the peoples.
1 Chronicles 16:24

4 comments on “wondering and wandering

  1. Found this version on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUxfvvYyPvA
    Beautiful hymn. At first, I thought it was a poem you wrote. 🙂

  2. SLIMJIM says:

    What wonder that God became a man to come and save us!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.