life is truly a mixed bag of nuts

I’ve seen a look in dogs’ eyes,
a quickly vanishing look of amazed contempt,
and I am convinced that basically dogs think humans are nuts.

John Steinbeck

mixed-nuts

Life is truly a mixed bag of nuts…
Despite our best preparations, plots and plans…
most of the time we have no clue as to what we’re going to get.

The tasty or the succulent, the salty or the sweet,
the crunchy or the sour or even the stale and the rotten…

But as it is life, we take what we can get, and get when we can…

Aunt Mothaaaa, aka Martha, met with the oncologist yesterday.
I was sitting with Dad when she called with her news.

Now you need to know that we’ve been living under a huge dark cloud.
Dad is dad and sadly rapidly declining.

Martha’s news of a spreading cancer hit like a rock.
She told me Sunday that she refused to turn the lights on her christmas tree
and wondered if she’d ever see those precious heirloom ornaments of hers ever again…
as she had begun expressing how she wanted her things to be “divvied up”…

Funny what we think about when faced with our own mortality…

Heaviness had wrapped its suffocating arms tightly around my small family.

When Martha called, I stepped out of dad’s room as I had not yet told
him about Martha.

There was a light joy in her voice.

The Oncologist told her that the cancer had indeed come from the
removed diseased kidney.
Chemotherapy wouldn’t touch it.
And there was no way to radiate three organs
And there was no cure for the cancer…

But….

He told her that she can take a pill, four times a day, for the rest of her life
and that will keep the cancer at bay, keeping it from spreading.

She was elated.

I finally exhaled…something I don’t think I’ve done in three weeks.

So whereas things are tragically racing down hill faster than I like for Dad,
we will stop momentarily this day, in order to rejoice for this moment
for Aunt Mothaaaaaaaa!

Who by the way has asked that I thank all “my blogging peeps”, my friends, for their
prayers…
because for next to being told she was cancer free, yesterday’s news was
about as good as it could get…

But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy,
and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.

Psalm 5:11

25 comments on “life is truly a mixed bag of nuts

  1. atimetoshare.me says:

    I know the relief this must bring for Aunt Martha. Now she will get to see her heirloom ornaments once more as she prepares to meet her Savior face to face. I’ve had some dear friends, a few years younger than me, who have been facing this dreaded disease as well. Death is imminent, but it is for all of us. We don’t know the time or day, but if we know God’s promises, we can die with confidence of eternal life. I’ll continue to pray for you and your family.

  2. Sarah says:

    That’s good to hear; I didn’t know they had that kind of amazing medication. πŸ™‚ I just had my annual celebration lunch with my friend Sally. She had colon cancer a few years ago and she said that this was the first Advent where she wasn’t thinking that this could be her last Christmas. She’s looking really good. I hope Aunt Martha is able to enjoy many more Christmasses , just like Sally.

  3. Lynda says:

    What amazing news! And a great Christmas gift for you and your family. Please tell Aunt Mothaaaa that your peeps were privileged to pray for her. Blessings.

    • Thank you Lynda—she emailed me late last night asking that I thank my “peeps”—what a hoot—
      but please know how much your prayers mean to me!!!
      love and hugs from the south…

      • Lynda says:

        Prayer is so relational for it not only brings the pray-er to God but encompasses those for whom one is praying. It is a great circle with God as the centre. We are privileged to be able to “feel” the prayers of others. I have a number of people asking for prayer at any one time and often they will tell me that they could “feel” the prayers during a difficult time. I am a great believer in prayer. We are so very privileged to be able to converse with the Creator of the universe. Hugs to you as well. We are in a sudden deep freeze so we can use lots of hugs here in the north.

  4. SLIMJIM says:

    I’m glad for this second to best news. I pray the pills would help the cancer not spread and slow down the cancer cells and that she be able to have many years still ahead of her.

  5. Wally Fry says:

    That’s just awesome!

  6. Awesome!!! I’m so happy for you and Martha!!! Praise the Lord! Thank you Jesus for this good news! Love, N πŸ™‚ ❀

  7. Karen says:

    While not the best news, certainly very good news. If only there was a pill like that for your father.

    • it is good news and crazy in that some cancers can be managed with pills while others are a death sentence…it makes no sense…but I am still thankful–that you for your good wishes πŸ™‚

      • Karen says:

        Yes, I don’t understand it. I was just talking about you and your family a few minutes ago with my husband about the same thing. Our closest friend is going through chemo now and I wish that she could take the pills…there seems to be no real answer. I pray as you do but I can’t help but worry all the time.

  8. that should read, “thank you, for the good wishes”—the cat is trying to get in my lap as I type–not a good combination.
    Yes, this whole thing is crazy. My mom, my aunt’s older sister, died in 1986 when she was just 53 from lung cancer—it was a 9 week ordeal—from first getting “sick” …to finally the correct diagnosis, to eventually dying from the cancer…she never left the hospital from onset to death….
    So that has been our benchmark with all of this and not a very good benchmark at that…
    so Martha was blindsided 3 years ago with the kidney thing. But it just seemed like a fluke–as life has rocked along great since the surgery–it was discovered shortly after our trip to Austria and Germany and then we were in Ireland last year…at this latest news, we didn’t know what to think…and when they said a pill, it was almost like a joke.
    So wrapping my head around that is still proving a little hard…
    so we shall see and continue praying for the positive…
    and as for poor ol dad…well, were just hanging in there…

    On another note, I did get a new washer and dryer last week and that has helped to bring a bit more organization to my laundry room…of which I think of you each and every time I walk in it… πŸ™‚
    Hugs to you Karen–happy first winter in your new Florida home πŸ™‚

  9. Take the little wins where they come. Thank God for the bit of good news.

Leave a Reply

