status quo

“One day everything will be well,
that is our hope.
Everything’s fine today,
that is our illusion”

Voltaire

edward_collier_-_letter_rack_-_google_art_project
(Edward Collier’s Letter Rack / 1698 / Oil on Canvas /Art Gallery of South Australia)

There are good days…
Days such as Christmas when things like Snoopy and Woodstock flannel sheets,
along with a handmade Georgia Tech teddy bear is all it takes to make
one happy and content.

img_0840
(dad and his grandson on Christmas day / Julie Cook / 2016)

There are bad days…
Days when the weight and heaviness of reality is coupled by the
frustratingly helplessness of a losing battle of body …

img_0829
(dad on a bad day / Julie Cook / 2016)

And yet the turning of the calendar page always brings renewed hopefulness.
A new year,
a new day,
a new month,
a new hope…

The hospice nurse told us yesterday that things with Dad are status quo…
could be worse, could be better, and yet he’s holding his own–so far this day…
On another day, perhaps tomorrow, something else may come our way, something different…
but as for today, we will take “status quo”

Many are saying of me,
“God will not deliver him.”
But you, LORD, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
I call out to the LORD, and he answers me from his holy mountain.
I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.
I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.

Psalm 3:2-6

24 comments on “status quo

  1. Melissa Presser (still Esquire) says:

    Love you Julie

  2. atimetoshare.me says:

    Blessings to you and your family. Those extra moments your dad has with you are times of grace for both of you. May he keep you and your dad in the palm of His hand even on the bad days. Love ❤️ and hugs!😘😇

    • thanks Kathy—the irony today with the post is that Dad told me yesterday he thought “his bottom” was hurting…but there is not wound or sore etc….so this morning the nurse called to tell me that for the first time throughout all of this, Dad was complaining about his back really hurting–of course I thought that maybe he’s just getting sore from the time spent laying down…but she told me “no Julie, it’s the kidneys, they’re shutting down.
      We’ve given him a low dose of the emergency morphine and the hospice nurse is coming out in just a bit to check on him”…so….so much for status quo….
      Thank you for the good prayers and wishes of love….

  3. Wally Fry says:

    Prayers as always dear friend.

  4. Lynda says:

    Julie, prayers for you and your family. My heart aches for you but then I look at the photo of your son and your dad and it is a beautiful testimony of the love that you all share even during these difficult times. Blessings my friend.

    • little did I know that it would be the following day after the post of status quo that it wouldn’t be status quo any longer—as it’s all changed in a day and is now all downhill from here–Martha is here until Monday so whereas I would have normally had my moment of tears and angst …I’ve not had that opportunity…having to hold it all in…I told the nurse I’d come back up today but she told me no…there wasn’t anything to do today and he told me not to come cause he’d just be watching football…but he was depressed and told the nurse he didn’t want to die…
      just a sad time…
      thank you Lynda for all the prayers

  5. Oh Julie, I know that this passage is hard. It always is. My prayers are going up. Your son, by the way, is a very handsome young man, and his smile is lovely. Take care and let me know if there is anything I can do. Love, N 🙂 ❤

  6. SLIMJIM says:

    As I read this post and saw the pictures I was reminded to pray for you and your family

  7. oneta hayes says:

    Lovely smile with his grandson in spite of the trying circumstances. That is the peace that Jesus gives.

  8. Karen says:

    May there be more good days than bad in the days that lie ahead. My thoughts are with you and your entire family.

Leave a Reply

