read between the lines

It is hardly surprising that children should enthusiastically start their education at
an early age with the Absolute Knowledge of computer science;
while they are unable to read, for reading demands making judgments at every line.
Conversation is almost dead, and soon so too will be those who knew how to speak.”

Guy deBord

autocorrect_big2

Chances are if you’ve ever received a text from me or even an email or…
ashamedly I confess, if you’ve ever read a post of mine…
you’ve most likely had to read between the lines….

Because between auto-correct, misinformed spell check and a life long issue with a bit of
dyslexia…what you see is often not what you’re meant to get…
Certainly not always what was intended…

However because you know me, or you understand the gist, or you are great at deciphering,
you understand what I’m saying without missing a beat….

Most of us are good like that.

I am heartened by the fact that I have a dear friend who has a automated tag line
on her phone’s messages that reads
“sorry if my iphone decided to spell words entirely on its own!”

What a relief knowing that someone out there understands me and knows
I’m not a complete moron!!!

Yet how good are we at reading between the lines of the times in which we currently
find ourselves living???

Yesterday evening I caught a bit of the news, coming in on a story about a staged walkout
in NYC among the city’s high school kids, with many of the kids appearing to be
Jr High age as well.

It seems that this protest was sent out over social media.
Not having seen the Facebook posts or tweets, I don’t know the gist of the alert but
it seems as if hundreds of kids headed the call at a particular time
to defiantly get up from class, file out of school,
filling and clogging the streets, carrying posters while laughing and chanting.

It seem the walkout was staged to protest President Trump’s travel ban.

A reporter was in the mix, stopping kids, asking them various questions.

Reporter: “What classes are you currently skipping?”

Student: “Calculus”

Reporter: “What happens if the teacher fails you for missing class or for missing a test?”

Student: “F*%k the A@$ hole”

I don’t know…
I taught high school for 31 years…

phrases like “F*%k the A@$ hole” …if I read between the lines, tells me that
this young person has really no clue as to what they’re doing or why they protesting..
they simply skipped Calculus, that’s all….
Plus….

If one of my kids had told a reporter such flippant garbage about me and my class,
well let’s just say the next day’s conversation would have been a bit one-sided…
with me being on the one side…

All the while reminding this young person about what it means to be an example,
how to carry of oneself in public,
self respect, along with a bit of a history lesson involved….
add to that, that I had never given this student any reason to speak about such
in said manner to a reporter,….
I would allow maybe a 10 second rebuttal before making a phone call home….

No reading between the lines on that…pretty frank, pretty clear.

Yet I wonder what the parent(s) would say….

Would the parent(s) defend their 16 year old’s “right” to walk out of a public school?
(public meaning the education is relatively free)
Would they be troubled about their child missing class, using profanity on national
television while addressing an adult…???
What about their child appearing as more hooligan than one who is educated,
well versed and mature ….

Maybe if they were attending a private school, where the parent was having to shell out
upwards of 20 grand a year, walking out might come with an entirely different reaction….

Would they puff up with bravado while supporting a child’s right to cut class and curse while
publicly disrespecting the President of the United States in a crude and crass manner?

Hummmm…

But then we’d get into that whole business about our youth and their self esteem issues
and God forbid that we should dare hold them responsible or accountable for their actions,
good or bad, with resulting repercussions for the bad…

Hence that whole “F#%$ the A$# hole teacher who’d fail me” mentality…

The student was holding a homemade sign.
The reporter asked about the sign.

It read “Punch Nazis”

The reporter reminded the student that she had just told him that she was nonviolent
yet is holding a sign about punching Nazis…

Reporter: “I thought you just said you were nonviolent”

Student: “Oh, uh, I’m against gun violence”

The reporter went on, continuing his off the cuff random interviews of about a dozen or so of
the hundreds of kids, with nary a one of the students interviewed being able to name the
7 countries on the travel ban.

When asked what was wrong with strong vetting of folks wanting come into this country from
known Terrorist nations one student quipped back that “we live in a Terrorist Nation…”

Sigh….

This walkout was just an apparent adolescent attempt to jump on
the currently very sad national bandwagon…

But who can blame them.

Didn’t it look absolutely thrilling when masked salaried anarchists were hurling bricks and
using hammers to smash the plate-glass windows belonging to banks and store fronts along
the streets of Washington D.C. all because an elected president was being sworn in?

And didn’t it look invigorating to see hundreds of women marching en masse while shouting
vulgar slurs while wearing “vagina” hats demanding their rights to abort babies while
cursing the reigning Nazis….

And so we wonder why kids now want in on the act…

So it might behoove us to get better at reading between the lines because the signs of the times
ain’t looking so hot….

But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty.
For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive,
disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable,
slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous,
reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God,
having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power.
Avoid such people.

2 Timothy 3:1-5

16 comments on “read between the lines

  1. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    And this is just the beginning…

  2. David says:

    Does a like indicate approval or disapproval of the behaviour you write about Julie?

    I despair when I read of attitudes like these. I would like to think they wouldn’t get away with it here – certainly not the skipping school bit (parents get fined in the UK for taking their kids out of school to go on holiday in term time).

    But the response to authority is probably the same. At sixteen I was too busy working, earning a living, training to be a navigating officer – seven days a week while on ship, and required to study in what free time I had. Paid a pittance but was glad to be doing a job of work and enjoying every minute of the freedom it brought. And you try and tell young folk today that – and they won’t believe you (that line stolen from the Monty Python ‘Four Yorkshiremen’ sketch!).

    Oh … and no technology (only morse code and semaphore!). We wrote letters to each other in those days and my parents usually didn’t know I was coming home from a ship until I arrived back in the UK and phoned them!

    • David you sum it up perfectly—you had responsibility, a goal and focus—purpose. As in if you wanted a future, you had to set about making it happen…as in a future with a job, an income along with finding fulfillment in a life’s work…

      And I think that is great that the schools in the UK will fine parents for taking kids out needlessly (aka on holiday and trips)
      Here, parents take them out and even lie about plans. Even if there is a scheduled break they may take them a few days earlier or come back a few days late…
      Then when I was still in the classroom, there were the parents who would check their kids out of my class, if my class happened to fall at the lunch hour, so that the kids could simply go out to eat lunch—what did that say about the relevance of my class or the relevance of school in general—that it was ok to come and go… leaving for lunch, etc…
      The Friday before the Senior prom many kids were checked out so they could go have their hair and nails done….
      It has gotten totally out of hand….
      and I can assure you that when I was in high school there was no leaving school…protest or not, prom or not…there would have been no excuses because my “job” was to be there in school and that was that…
      somewhere along the lines we lost the “that was that” …..
      And yes, technology is the bane of our existence—sounds too many alarms for these kids….

  3. atimetoshare.me says:

    The first responsibility for this behavior has to do with who these kids look up to. If they aren’t learning respect at home, they arent going to learn it. Blame ultimately lies on sin, but something has to change as to the examples being set for children. You are so right! Thr stupid actions of adults will. One back to haunt them through their kids

  4. atimetoshare.me says:

    Argh auto correct😜

  5. You must have been watching Walter’s World. One of my favorite segments of my favorite news cast. However, it does make me think that there is very little hope for the future. We must have done a pretty awful job of raising our own kids for them to have raised the their kids to be such, dare I say it, idiots. The indoctrination seems to have been successful.

    • I don’t think if I was Jesse Watters I’d want to claim the world as mine, as he does closing his segment– and I found myself laughing over the answers those kids gave but being truly sad at the same time — they are so misguided —
      So it appears to be true…what one generation tolerates, the next accepts–

  6. SharaC says:

    Ugh. Perfectly said. What a mess… I’d be beyond mortified if my kid ever behaved like this. But I sense many parents are proud of it, unfortunately. I was thinking of the verse in 2 Timothy as I read and then there it was!

  7. This is the ugliest mess I’ve ever seen and I hope and pray that they overplay their hand enough that more and more people realize the complete and utter folly of such hatemongering and evilness. Love and hugs, N πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. phyllissnipes says:

    I remember rebelling in school…I wore pants instead of a dress in 5th grade, grew my hair over my eyebrows in 8th grade, and skipped basketball practice one day to sneak over to the local drug store for a tuna sandwich at the counter! I was a villain!! Seriously, Daddy would have glared at me if I’d even thought of doing anything worse than that, and that’s all it would have taken.
    I fear for our future. Seriously.
    Phyllieeeee (autocorrect = Phyllis)

Leave a Reply

