unconditional

“God never hurries.
There are no deadlines against which he must work.
Only to know this is to quiet our spirits and relax our nerves.”

A.W. Tozer

I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts,
there can be no more hurt, only more love.”

Mother Teresa


(Alice our granddog when she was here for a visit while her “parents” were out of town /
Julie Cook / 2017)

I think it’d be a safe bet if I said that every pet owner out there would
attest to the fact that a pet’s love is unconditional.

Meaning that their love is not limited, judgmental and is soundly absolute.

Our four legged and winged friends care not how we look, how we smell, how much we weigh,
how many wrinkles we have or the status of our finances.

They only want…us.
Yearning simply to spend all their time with us…as they set their passions
upon us and us alone.
And we in turn rest the weight of our concerns in their endless acceptance and openness.
There is a sense of safety found in their welcoming and wanting eyes.

I like to imagine that God affords us this tangible glimpse into His
own complete desire and love for us through the love of these, our animals…

But God shows his love for us in that while we were
yet sinners Christ died for us.

Romans 5:8

22 comments on “unconditional

  1. Citizen Tom says:

    You sure get some great pictures.

    I suspect very few of us reach that people Mother Teresa spoke of. Everyone we love will die — except God. Since it is difficult to love God, we must practice upon each other, and that hurts.To care about someone as imperfect as another human being hurts. I suspect that is part of why people eventually seek God.

    Thoughtful post.

    Looks like that special election down your way had a good ending.I trust you will enjoy some relief from all the political ads.

  2. I love the animals.

    I visit my neighbor cats Coco, Rocky, Skeeter and Mommy in the mornings and reward their affection with a little fish treat.

  3. atimetoshare.me says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if all the people in this world had the mentality of dogs?

  4. Do pet rocks count… hahaha

  5. ColorStorm says:

    I have a nurse friend who just lost her dog to death. She told me she has been an emotional basket case.

    I understand. And tears are fine and dandy, even for our pets.

  6. Lynda says:

    Who could ever resist Alice’s begging eyes? I still miss my Lizzie who died five years ago and often tear up when I see someone walking their dog. What amazing companions these little creatures are! Gifts from God.

    • ‘Beggar” is putting it mildly– the begging at the table and the anticipated wait resulted in a pool of drool… leading me to have to mop after supper– ”tis her one big fault- she likes food– hers and everyone elses!
      And I understand your tears and remembrance of one now gone– as it is Lizzie for you and it was my childhood snoopy– who my Percy now reminds me so much of– truly blessings from a loving Father

Leave a Reply

