abundance

Many a man curses the rain that falls upon his head,
and knows not that it brings abundance to drive away the hunger.

Saint Basil


(my tiny black Russian cherry tomatoes along with the gifts from a friend/ Julie Cook / 2017)

The Lord has been gracious.
He has given, without hesitation…to us,
His abundance…

Abundance which equates to infinite love..
yet have we been gracious in our thankfulness….

Because you did not serve the Lord your God with joyfulness and gladness
of heart, because of the abundance of all things,
therefore you shall serve
your enemies whom the Lord will send against you,
in hunger and thirst,
in nakedness, and lacking everything.
And he will put a yoke of iron on your neck until he has destroyed you.

Deuteronomy 28:47-48

14 comments on “abundance

  1. Lynda says:

    The last line of the quote from Deuteronomy brought to mind Jesus’ words from Matthew 11:28-30:
    β€œCome to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

  2. I am SOOOoooo jealous!

    Even with loads of compost, dilo dirt and potting soil I can’t get my corn to grow over 3 feet tall.

    This season it didn’t even make 2 feet tall.

    And my tomatoes, the ones that are supposed to look like yours, big, bodacious and juicy come out not much better than little prunes!

    If I want to feel abundance around here I have to go the produce section of the local supermarket.

    • Well, I can’t claim the credit—only for the cherry tomatoes. A friend grew the other larger more bodacious ones.
      What with my life these past two years, being so upside down, my husband said no to a garden as it consumes my time and I’ve not had the time to consume. Of course at first I lamented, but he was right, I haven’t had the time since what time I had was spent on the road between here and dads…but I did manage this year to plant three tomato plants in containers. The Black Russians have been prolific–the abundance of bodacious ones is due to our friend who has enjoyed a booming crop…which he has in turn shared—of which I am grateful! πŸ™‚
      I am sorry about your corn. The last season we planted corn, it was a disaster…but one day, I’ll get back in business πŸ™‚

  3. atimetoshare.me says:

    Abundance indeed!

  4. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    Amen Julie πŸ™‚

  5. Wow, what a beautiful abundance it is!!! πŸ™‚ ❀

  6. SLIMJIM says:

    That is a very good quote from Basil. It’s very true how people see many of God’s blessing as a curse.

Leave a Reply

